The year might have started on a bitter note for Kohli and company as might have lost the Test series against South Africa, but they certainly were not lagging behind when it comes to being awarded and being recognized for their efforts. After a solid performance with the bat across all the formats last year, Indian captain Virat Kohli on Thursday swept ICC Awards as he won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. The 29-year-old is also named the ICC Cricketer of the year 2017 and ODI cricketer of the year. It is the second time Kohli has been named as the ODI cricketer of the year as he won the same in 2012.

The Indian Skipper scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80. Kohli scored 8 centuries which includes 5 double hundreds. He also hammered 1,818 ODI runs with an average of 82.63 which had 7 centuries. Its not over yet as he also scored 299 runs in T20 with a staggering average of 153. He registered 9 consecutive series wins as a captain in the longest format.

Virat Kohli

Kohli said, “It means a lot to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and the ICC ODI Player of the Year”. “I won that back in 2012 also but it’s the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honor for me. It’s probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special.

“Last time it was Ash [Ravichandran Ashwin] and this time I’m getting it, so I’m really really honored, and I’d like to thank the ICC for recognizing all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also, he added.

Apart from Kohli, Two Indians made it to the 2017 Test team of the year – Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara. Yuzendra Chahal’s 6 for 25 against England in Bangalore last year has been recognized by ICC as the T20 performance of the year. While Australia captain Steve Smith has been crowned the ICC Test Player of the Year for the second time.

Other ICC Award winners for 2017:

  • ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Hasan Ali (Pakistan)
  • ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
  • David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year – Marais Erasmus
  • ICC Spirit of Cricket – Anya Shrubsole (England)
  • ICC Fans Moment of the Year – Pakistan stun India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Here are a few Twitter reactions from the Virat Kohli fans on this huge honor:

There is a lot more to come for captain Kohli as he has been time and again proving that he is one of the best cricket players in the world with his solid performances in all the formats of the game.

Fond of words and always in hunt for the right ones to string together to tell a story. Constantly looking for something unique to write and read. When not writing you will find him watching television series, reading on the internet or listening to Music. A huge Manchester United & Eminem fan.